Agenda

Timing listed in Eastern Daylight Time (EDT) and Pacific Daylight Time (PDT)

Friday, October 16, 2020

11:00 AM – 11:15 AM EDT/
8:00 AM – 8:15 AM PDT

Welcome from the Chair of the NRMP Board of Directors

11:15 AM – 12:15 PM EDT/
8:15 AM – 9:15 AM PDT

Plenary Speaker: Alvin Roth, PhD

Dr. Roth will reflect on The Match and its role in the larger system of the transition to residency

12:15 – 12:25 PM EDT/
9:15 – 9:25 AM PDT
Break

12:25 PM – 1:40 PM EDT/
9:25 AM – 10:40 AM PDT

Breakout Session 1

  • Data-driven UME to GME recruitment: Myths and facts for optimizing candidate selection, Jason Reminick
  • What program directors, faculty need to know: Secondary uses of COMLEX-USA scores in assessing residency program applicants, David Kuo, Gretta A. Gross
  • The impact of COVID-19 on residency interviews: Improving medical students' readiness for residency applications with virtual practice interviews, Bailey Dunn-Phillips
  • Multifactorial use of ePortfolios in Medical Education, Krishani Patel, Makayla Dearborn, Michelle Schmude, Tanja Adonizio, Eleanor Fortner-Buczala

1:40 PM – 1:50 PM EDT/
10:40 AM – 10:50 AM PDT

Break

1:50 PM – 2:50 PM EDT/
10:50 AM – 11:50 AM PDT

Plenary Speaker: Vivek Murthy, MD

Dr. Murthy will discuss the importance and power of well-being and how living a more people-centered life can help us nurture more connection and meaning in our lives

2:50 PM – 3:00 PM EDT/
11:50 – 12:00 PM PDT
Break

3:00 PM – 4:15 PM EDT/
12:00 PM – 1:15 PM PDT

Breakout Session 2

  • When students experience microaggressions, Michele Reynolds, Mildred Willy, Jade Johnson, Ariel Cascio, Maria Aucar
  • Face to screen: Methods of data gathering by residency applicants in the era of social distancing, Elizabeth Southworth, Sarah Santiago, Mary Duarte Thibault, Jacqueline Lomboy
  • Managing destructive mindsets and automatic thoughts during a pandemic,Stuart Slavin, Michael Maguire
  • Cultivating "webside manner" in the UME/GME telemedicine learner, Roya Samuels, Stephen Barone, Stacy McGeechan

4:15 PM – 5:15 PM EDT/
1:15 PM– 2:15 PM PDT

À LA CARTE! Grab a bite to eat and jump into

  • Interactive Poster Sessions
  • Community "Chats" (where attendees can ask questions and share thoughts about topics presented at the meeting)
5:15 – 5:30 PM EDT/
2:15 – 2:30 PM PDT
Break

5:30 PM – 6:30 PM EDT/
2:30 PM – 3:30 PM PDT

Discussion with NRMP
Dr. Lamb will open the hour with a discussion about challenges and current trends in the transition to residency and how the role of The Match is evolving to address and inform those challenges for a new generation. This discussion will be followed by an open discussion between attendees, NRMP staff, and Board leadership.

6:30 PM EDT/
3:30 PM PDT

Adjourn for the Day

Saturday, October 17, 2020

11:00 AM – 12:00 PM EDT/
8:00 AM – 9:00 AM PDT

Plenary Speaker: Shankar Vedantam

Mr. Vedantam will share his expertise on how acknowledging and embracing our "hidden" thoughts can be a critical catalyst for personal growth and change

12:00 – 12:10 PM EDT/
9:00 – 9:10 AM PDT
Break

12:10 PM – 1:25 PM EDT/
9:10 AM – 10:25 AM PDT

Breakout Session 3

  • In a pass/fail world: Application of lessons learned from programs blinded to Step 1 in residency recruitment, Kathy W. Smith, Conrad J. Clemens, Lisa Stoneking, Jason Curry
  • Exploring solutions to competency-based hand-offs in the UME to GME continuum,John Moriarty, Paul Hemmer, Marygrace Zetkulic, John Choe, Heather Laird-Fick, Alpesh Amin, Bhavin Dalal
  • How anglophone countries compete for highly qualified GME entrants: Data from United States, Canada, United Kingdom, Australia and New Zealand, Paul Rockey, John (Jack) Boulet, Mary Lewis, Maria Mathews Des Gorman
  • NRMP "Match 101" Workshop for Learners, Jeanette L. Calli, MS

1:25 PM – 1:35 PM EDT/
10:25 AM – 10:35 AM PDT

Break

1:35 PM – 2:50 PM EDT/
10:35 AM – 11:50 AM PDT

Breakout Session 4

  • Preference signaling mechanism in the 2020-2021 residency application cycle: A debate and stakeholder discussion, Keli Santos-Parker, J. Bryan Carmody, Kathleen Kashima, Helen K. Morgan, Christle Nwora, Ilana Rosman, Paul Wallach, Maya Hammoud
  • Virtual residency recruitment strategies: Lessons learned and the way forward, Julia Switzer, Tamika Alexander, Alison Vogell, Megan Evans, Abigail Wolf
  • How to maximize the tools in your admissions toolbox to select the "best" trainees for your GME program, Kelly L. Dore, Tom Rebbecchi, Jacob Ufberg
  • Am I ready to care for patients? Competency-based assessment and feedback in the time of COVID-19, Heather Laird-Fick, Matthew Emery, Julie Phillips, Mauricio Franco, Sabrina Ma, Charles Odenigbo, Betsy Witte
2:50 – 3:00 PM EDT/
11:50 AM – 12:00 PM PDT
Break

3:00 PM – 4:15 PM EDT/
12:00 PM – 1:15 PM PDT

Breakout Session 5

  • Preparing international medical graduates for success in residency, Sybil Pentsil, Javier Gonzalez del Rey, Andrea Hernandez-Troya, Shreya Doshi, Rajavee Panchal, Afshan Najafi, Rana Chakraborty
  • Medical school to residency: Analysis of first-generation medical students and their academic performance, Michael Yi, Michelle Schmude, Joseph Bannon
  • Meaning, purpose, and COVID-19 responsiveness as a resident: In their own words, Meaghan Ruddy
  • Integrating residents into the FQHC COVID response: Perspectives from a new residency program, Tom McBride, Yui Nishiike, Rebecca McEntee

4:15 PM EDT/
1:15 PM PDT

Meeting Adjourned

Agenda last updated: August 2, 2021

UCSD CMEUCSD CME facebook UCSD CME twitterUCSD CME Instagram UCSD CME LinkedIn

Content is subject to change without notice. Please refer to the activity website for the most current information.

Official website of the University of California San Diego. Copyright ©2020 Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved.